top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Yin

Do the Work Response: Middle -> Now we are rolling

After reading this part of the book, I realized that many of the ideas that Steven Pressfield mentioned can actually be directly applied to the things going on in my life. When the author mentioned about the screenwriter's pitch, I immediately thought of my portfolio website. While I was building it last semester in Professional Practice, I first put a lot of videos on the home page. My professor then told me that people who look at my portfolio have really no patience to look through my works one by one so the website needs to be minimal, to the point, and effective. I then made showreels for my animation and film projects.


The other topic that was discussed intensively was to "fill in the gaps". This idea actually reminds me of Epicenter Design from last week's reading. I think they are all similar in concept which is to start at the most important parts of a project and then fill in the other details.


I resonated with one idea that Pressfield mentioned: Follow your heart, be unconventional and don't say no to yourself. This really applies to P.M. because it really is a special project for me. It's the first time that I get to do whatever I want and follow no rules or limitations of topic. Therefore, I had collected my strangest and wildest ideas and I want to express them through this project. In this way, I create "assistance" that will help me balance when resistance strikes.


Overall, this portion of the book serves as a motivation and an aid for me to continue doing my project and I feel so energized because I feel like according to the book, I'm really doing something I love.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response: Do the Work - End

As usual this chapter perfectly reflects my current progress. I am wrapping up on the project this week and all the small problems that I thought to be insignificant and easily solvable suddenly pile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page