top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Yin

Process:11/9 - 11/16

My goal for this week was to finish the overall structure of the entire project. I worked on one ending for the story(the superstition one I mentioned last week). The head enters a strange and dark space by interacting with the bottle gourd. (traditionally Chinese liked to use the bottle gourd to hold medicine) On the bottle it says in Chinese: Magic medicine, guaranteed to cure all illnesses. The head is then sucked into the bottle into another room. This room is a small room containing a Guan Yin statue, a typical symbol for Buddhism. However, the overall atmosphere, color and lighting is the opposite of the Buddhism ideology.

The statue then asks you three questions. If any one is answered "No", you are immediately kicked back to Session 5, as if nothing has happened. But if user answers all three “Yes", he/she is taken to the ending. The ending is a sequence of collages. The hand is in a praying posture and the background constantly flashes. These backgrounds represent the 6 realms in the Buddhism ideology.

Finally, the user will see the ending credits and after that the user will have an option to replay the story Session 1.


I also added some extra features in S5 and I'm currently working on background objects and fixing bugs in all the other sessions.

My professor Diego Garcia replied me with his thoughts on my project and I'm very glad to hear about his experience walking through the game. I fixed and changed some things according to his feedbacks.


I think the Guan Yin room really turned out to be better than I expected. I was having trouble with the star trail background and Adrian helped me by giving me smart and simple solutions to the problem I was having. I also sent Adrian this project so he could playtest on his computer. We also spent a long time trying to find suitable music for these sessions online together.


This is the screen capture of Session 5 -> ending -> replay


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response: Do the Work - End

As usual this chapter perfectly reflects my current progress. I am wrapping up on the project this week and all the small problems that I thought to be insignificant and easily solvable suddenly pile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page