top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Yin

Process: 9/14 ~ 9/21

This week I got started on my project and focused on Session 1. This is the sketch I drew in the beginning. I wanted the story to start in a room with a lot of people walking around. Beneath them, there is toaster which is actually the object that the user uses to navigate the story. The user(toaster)can only go left and right, when the toaster goes out of the room, it enters a long hallway that serves as the introduction to the title: PM. When the toaster leaves the room, the people who were walking around suddenly snaps into a frozen, uniform formation.




I showed Adrian my draft and he gave me some suggestions.

  1. the intro has a long hallway, so after the toaster leaves the room maybe it shouldn't be able to go back into the room so that the user can progress in the story and not get confused or trapped in the same place.

  2. what art style are you going to use? the toaster and the room are in pixel art, but how about the characters? should the style be uniform or should you try some experimental methods?

  3. how many characters are enough to cover the toaster and not let the audience disregard the toaster?

  4. what is the color theme of this session? what emotion do you want the user to feel when he/she enters?you said that in the beginning you don't want it to be too dark and heavy, so the colors of the people are critical.

  5. The toaster's only animation is the wheels moving, is it too simple?

I drew some characters in pixel art to fit make the art style consistent and added them into the room in gamemaker. I then tried to adjust the toaster's movement and the camera following the toaster. I wanted an immersive experience so I made the game window almost full screen.


I think Session 1 is almost there. I have all the big ideas done and now I have to brainstorm Session 2 and make some adjustments and add more details. Currently still trying to make a trigger that makes everyone in the room to snap into a formation when the toaster just leaves the room.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response: Do the Work - End

As usual this chapter perfectly reflects my current progress. I am wrapping up on the project this week and all the small problems that I thought to be insignificant and easily solvable suddenly pile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page