top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Yin

Process: 9/21 ~ 9/28

For this week, I focused on developing session 2 and also tried to do some adjustments and improvements on Session 1. Making session 2 was harder than I thought and I spent a lot of time on making the transition and a smooth viewport change. I did not quite finish session 2 because making the explosion and screen shake was particularly challenging.

Since the narrative started with pixel characters and a toaster, it would make the impression of a pixel adventure RPG, and I wanted a sudden turn of events to destroy that impression. Therefore, I want the toaster to enter into session 2 as normal but make the user lose control of the toaster all of a sudden. The toaster would accelerate backwards into a never seen before space and suddenly destruct itself. (the space is 2D and linear from the beginning, meaning the toaster was only able to go right/left, so the player would assume the toaster would go backwards into the first session, but in reality, there's a new, large space behind.)


I first wanted session 2 to be like this, but after I showed Adrian, he said to me: Didn't you say you want the emotional arc to be gradual? This is still at an early point of the game so I think it's a bit bloody and intense for the user.

I then changed to this place, it's a bit like a dream.

The pink place is where the toaster destructs.



The toaster starts in the middle of the map, the player doesn't know the pink place.

I also improved Session 1 by adding appropriate font for the title and completing the snapping formation when the toaster leaves the room.


I asked Adrian to give me some feedbacks and these are some suggestions/questions he said:

  1. when the toaster transitions to the second session, there's a moment when the toaster hides from the user's view, what if some user just stops there and hinders the story from progressing? Maybe when the title P.M. appears, you should "force" the user to proceed to the next session.

  2. You used screen shake to illustrate the explosion, but even the screen is shaking, the user can still see the toaster transform from regular to exploded suddenly. Should there be more effects that you add (like smoke, screen turning black etc.) to make that explosion more realistic?

The toaster burning after explosion.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response: Do the Work - End

As usual this chapter perfectly reflects my current progress. I am wrapping up on the project this week and all the small problems that I thought to be insignificant and easily solvable suddenly pile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page