top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Yin

Process: 9/28 ~ 10/5

P.M. at this point. (screen record). I'm controlling the toaster as the user and currently in session 1&2 the user can only go left or right. When the toaster hits a certain point in S2 the user loses control of the toaster.

I finally made the screen shake to work properly and fixed a few bugs that made the toaster have incorrect collision with other objects. I also adjusted the map for S2 quite a few times so that the paintings are placed correctly and the toaster can have enough time to backup.

For this week I focused on working on Session 3 and fixing some problems in Session 2. Sessions 3 is P.M. radio, it will feature a radio with several buttons that allow the user a space to think. It shifts the experience from visual to auditory. The user is free to leave or stay for as long as he/she wants.

The radio has three main control buttons and one "turn off" button. the upper two buttons switch between channels and the eye button switches modes. These two modes have different themes and are reflected by colors. (bright - dark ) and they represent the separation between rationality and sensibility. The user enters into the bright mode first and is able to listen to some conversation based "podcast", piano music, poetry etc. The dark mode, although having the same categories, differs from the bright mode in contents. The channels revolve around themes such as mistakes, anguish, disappointment etc, like an emotional catharsis.

For this week I collected images that will be used as backgrounds of the radio channels and recorded the materials needed for the radio.

I had a 1 hour long conversation with Adrian and I edited and cut it so that the radio will feature the conversation in several channels, for a total time of 25 minutes. I distorted the audio and erased key words to create a sense of anonymity. I then recorded me playing piano for both modes.

I then mixed and prepared all the audio needed for both of the channels using adobe Audition, especially for the dark mode. I spent a lot of time and tried to produce a rich soundscape.

These are some of the images I collected. I only want images of nighttime and I want to adjust them to a purple/blue tone. I also need to crop them all to squares and lower the resolution so that they are less clear.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response: Do the Work - End

As usual this chapter perfectly reflects my current progress. I am wrapping up on the project this week and all the small problems that I thought to be insignificant and easily solvable suddenly pile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page